Mixx: My Blend of the Web

November 30, 2007

Everyone has been taking about Mixx.com. At first I was a bit frustrated, another Social News Site… As if I am not busy enough Digging, Sphinning, Propelling, Hugging. I do so much of this stuff, it is tiring!

And then I read an interview on Collective Thoughts with Chris McGill who is the founder of Mixx. According to McGill, he liked “those other sites and they certainly served as inspiration. But I wanted to take what these other sites do well and then be able to focus it on the things that I’m interested in. For example, sure, I want to know what people in general are interested in (text, photos, videos), but I also want to know what people in Bethesda, MD, are telling me I should look at, what Red Sox fans are raving or complaining about, and what people who are tracking research on Alzheimer’s (a family legacy I would prefer to avoid) are telling me is important. I wasn’t able to do that with any of the existing sites.”

So I joined Mixx, and low and behold, it IS my own personal blend of the web. I got to customize what I want to see on my “Popular” page. Voting is simple and easy, the green triangle pointing up is a positive vote, and the red triangle down is a negative. The site runs smooth and is really easy to operate.

Unlike Digg, there are many awards you can receive in the Mixx Lounge for being active on the site. There is a reward system with Karma points and Mixx Awards for Conversation Starter, Most Opinionated, Top Submitter, Most Contentious, Enthusiast, Hyperactive, Curmudgeon, Thought Leader, and Top Ten.

Rumor has it that many Diggers and making the move to Mixx. I don’t know how fast this site will take off but my guess is… pretty fast. I am loving it!

So I guess I am adding another site to my list…

I even found this on Mixx today, and it really made me rethink my diet.

4 Responses to “Mixx: My Blend of the Web”


  1. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptFor example, sure, I want to know what people in general are interested in (text, photos, videos), but I also want to know what people in Bethesda, MD, are telling me I should look at, what Red Sox fans are raving or complaining about, … […]


  2. […] post by frozen2late delivered by Medtrials and […]


  3. […] Mixx: My Blend of the Web – Stephanie Weingart shares her thoughts of Mixx. […]

  4. Mike Jacobi Says:

    I checked it out. There are too many of the se sites out there. Lots of Digg users went to Reddit too. As well as another site abotu 6 months old with 10 times the features of Mixx, called Earthfrisk.com. Why all of the fake hype on this one site when others are far better?


Leave a comment