Ugly Advertising

February 2, 2008

Is it really hard to ask marketing agencies and creative ad designers to create visually appealing ads for huge social networking sites? Am I really this ad sensitive, well yes!

I spend somewhat around 8 hours online per day and an average of 40-45 hours per week. That is a lot of time spent looking at advertisements. I am not “Banner Blind” however in some cases I wish I was. Many people in the industry are even arguing over the future of banner ads. Either way, sometimes they get to me.

They say there is no negative reaction when it comes to marketing.

When I saw this ad on Digg, I got really grossed out. Then, to make it worse… I saw the same ads on Facebook. I couldn’t hide from it!

Ugly Ad

I started complaining about it on Twitter, but for some reason nobody talks to me on Twitter as much as they talk to everyone else. So instead, I gave in and went to the TriClear site. The site is pretty and even the “Success Stories” before and after pictures page was NOT as scary as their Digg and Facebook advertisements.

There are many wonderful acne medication campaigns out there, and the Digg/Facebook audience is definitely the right target for TriClear. The more that I thought about it, the more it made sense. TriClear purposely created the most hideous advertisements to get their non-clicking, banner blind target to become interested…and it worked. If I had a nasty acne problem, I might try TriClear because of this. (Actually I would more likely go with Proactive because P Diddy backs it)

According to the Duck Tape Blog: “Ugly Advertising Works!

So I guess I have to get used to it……

ugly ads 1

3 Responses to “Ugly Advertising”

  1. Kerry Says:

    I saw that add too. What I thought was really weird/funny was that in the “after” photo, it looked like somebody just used the smudge tool on a photo editor and smidged out the ginormous zits. Gross!

  2. SEO Says:

    Sometimes- ugly works, after all your bloging about it and remember the add don’t you? 🙂

  3. Brett Says:

    ugh.. ads like that only promote one thing – ad blockers, which kinda defeats the purpose and ruins it for everyone.

    It’ll only get worse as ad agencies catch-on to these attention-grabbing methods.


Leave a Reply

