Google vs. Ask

December 19, 2007

Today I was researching for a potential client and completely by accident I started using Ask.com. This client had no previous American made SEO work, PPC campaigns, poor social media, and a slowly declining reputation. It is visible on Google, Yahoo, and MSN alike.

Then, I checked it out on Ask.com, it looked surprisingly different. When you search this client, the results are outstanding. There are pictures and videos from Flickr & YouTube, Directions, maps, and it offers great related search options. The results almost offered some sort of social media profile for this client. It made them look awesome…. of course that doesn’t matter.

Of course we have all seen this “Can Your Search Engine Do This” Commercial:

In this commercial Ask is bashing the Google SERPS, but I am not sure how I feel about this. I am in no position to ever switch to Ask.com, nor will I ever want to. Am I really that Loyal to Google??? Are YOU this loyal to Google??

Of course I enjoy everything Google has to offer. From their tools, trends, e-mail, chat, and so on. But aside from all that Google shows SOME truth (aside from Paid links, Google owned higher ranking, etc). It shows the faults of SEO which is somewhat not shown at all in Ask.com

Ask was already a verb before it became a search engine, but Google was made a verb in the dictionary when it became the biggest.

It is completely debatable.

3 Responses to “Google vs. Ask”


  1. Until a little Ask search bar is in my browser window, I’m all Google all day long.

  2. Anon Says:

    If you liked Ask why would you say “nor will I ever want to”? No matter what they do?

  3. frozen2late Says:

    Because …. I love using the Google Tools and being signed into my iGoogle. I am very loyal to Google as they have always treated me well. Therefore, I will never leave.


Leave a Reply

