Blogging

October 26, 2007

Tonight I had a conversation with a very close friend who is trying to break into the world of writing.

Naturally, I explained to her it is much easier to blog and get the same response at a quicker rate.

It is the natural progression for very powerful authors to become very powerful bloggers. I have noticed that a lot of my favorite authors have made the switch. Of course it really depends on the style of writing they do. But columnists for the New Yorker are also Bloggers.

I obviously told her to research the hundreds of blogs about SEO and Blogging, because those are the two secrets of becoming a “Power Blogger”. But personally I don’t feel like I have enough experience to guide her.

Is it easier to blog about a niche? I’d think so. What is the best affiliate network to work with? How do you explain PPC to a beginner? How do you convince a talented write to blog? These are my questions. Of course once there is valuable content it is easy to promote on social platforms and various SEO tools/ Content Promotion sites, like Digg and Del.icio.us. But how do you convince a friend to break in?!

I’m sure I will find the answers to these questions when I network @ Pubcon.

Any further advice for my friend would be appreciated!

You can read her blog now here: My Pop Roks

2 Responses to “Blogging”

  1. Wally Sams Says:

    “Of course once there is valuable content it is easy to promote on social platforms and various SEO sites, like Digg and Del.icio.us.”

    First of all, Digg and del.ico.us are not “SEO sites” by any stretch of the imagination. These social networks are tools that can be used by SEOs but they are NOT SEO sites.

    That line of thinking (and obviously not knowing the culture there) leads me to believe that you have never got something to the homepage of either. Have you????

  2. frozen2late Says:

    Wally,

    Thanks for the correction. By looking at the time of this post you can see how my mind was functioning. Definitely definitely these sites are used as tools to promote content. Thanks for pointing it out, I am making the correction now.

    You must have a lot of experience, what is your advice for my friend who is trying to get into blogging?


Leave a Reply

